Mueller, '80, Elected President-Elect of NSBA

21 Oct 2020    

William Mueller

William J. Mueller, ’80, of Lincoln was elected President-Elect to succeed Jill Ackerman as President. Mueller will serve as NSBA President from October 2021 to October 2022. 

Mueller is senior partner and co-founder of Mueller Robak LLC. Mr. Mueller has succeeded in combining a strong legal and political background to become one of the state’s leading lobbyists. He advises clients on a broad range of legislative and government relations matters. Mr. Mueller is a graduate of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the University of Nebraska College of Law. Mueller was elected to membership in the National Order of Barristers and was a member of the National Moot Court Team while in law school.  He was elected Chair of the Young Lawyers Section of the Nebraska State Bar Association and has served as Legislative Counsel to the NSBA since 1984.  He was named a Fellow of the Nebraska State Bar Foundation and a Patron Fellow of the American Bar Foundation.  Mueller has been selected by his peers for inclusion in the Best Lawyers in America® and as a Great Plains Super Lawyer in Government Relations Law since 2009. In 2013, 2016 and 2019 and 2021 Mueller was selected as the Best Lawyers Lawyer of the Year in Government Relations practice in Nebraska. Mr. Mueller is a past President of the University of Nebraska Alumni Association.  Mueller and his spouse, fellow Mueller Robak partner, Kim M. Robak, chaired the NSBA's Barristers' Ball and the campaign of the United Way of Lincoln and Lancaster County.  Mueller currently serves as the President of the United Way's Board of Directors. 

Mueller and Kim Robak, '85, have two daughters, Katherine and Claire. Katherine T. Mueller resides in New York City where she works for a financial services company in their global payments area.  Dr. Claire M. Mueller, M.D., resides in Portland where she is in the second year of her ophthalmology residency.  Mueller's father, the late William P. "Rocky" Mueller of Ogallala, served as President of the Nebraska State Bar Association in 1983-1984.