Woods Aitken Outstanding Student Award


The Woods Aitken Outstanding Student Award recognizes a third-year student who has committed to building the Nebraska Law community. The student demonstrates excellence in the classroom and exemplifies qualities consistent with the College’s mission and values.


  • Currently enrolled at the College of Law.
  • Good academic standing.
  • Brings benefit to the community through actions and commitment.

Self-nominations are accepted, as are nominations from faculty, staff, students, or alumni. All nominations will be submitted by Dean Moberly to the Dean’s Advisory Board Executive Committee for selection. Questions should be directed to Molly Brummond.


Cash prize and medal awarded at the Dean's Advisory Board Awards banquet and permanent recognition through a publicly-displayed plaque at the college.

Most Recent Winners

Madison L. Huber, '20

During her time at the College, Madi has been a tremendous contributor to the College of Law. She was a member of the College’s National Trial Team and National Moot Court Team. In addition, she was an active member of the Women’s Law Caucus, volunteered for the VITA program, and served on the faculty appointments committee.

Madison Huber portrait

Curtis H. Fuller, '21

Curtis is the 2021 Woods Aitken Outstanding Student Award winner. Curtis is the executive chair of the Student Bar Association and, in that role, has revitalized the organization as representative of the student body’s collective voice. Curtis also served as the president of Nebraska OUTLaw as a 2L. Through this role, and through his SBA leadership, Curtis has worked tirelessly to make the College of Law more inclusive, empathetic, and transparent. In addition to his leadership roles, Curtis was a Pro Bono Research Fellow and a Schmid Research Fellow.

Curtis Fuller portrait
Previous Winners
  • 2019: Joy M. Kathurima
  • 2018: Jared Koch
  • 2017: Michael Blackburn
  • 2016: Christopher Schmidt
  • 2015: Katie Joseph
  • 2014: Paige Amundson
  • 2013: Allyson G. Peetz
  • 2012: Audrey Johnson & Christine Baughman
  • 2011: Joshua Wunderlich
  • 2010: Coady H. Pruett
  • 2009: Michelle M. Weber
  • 2008: Laura E. Antonuccio
  • 2007: Ryan J. Sevcik
  • 2006: Christopher J. Riffle
  • 2005: Alisa M. Rosales
  • 2004: David J. A. Bargen
  • 2003: Anthony B. Schutz
  • 2002: Paula S. Lyon
Katie Pfannenstiel portrait
Contact Katie with Questions

Katie Pfannenstiel
Assistant Director of Alumni Relations and Event Planning