NASA Space Law Network Internship Program


Space Law Network 2019 Summer Internship Program 
The NASA space law network grant was only a one year duration, ending in Oct. 2019. There are currently no funded internship opportunities through the Nebraska Law Space Law grant. We encourage law students to visit NASA's internship website directly for all current opportunities. 

Please join us in congratulating the Summer 2019 NASA Space Law Network Selected Interns:

Ames Connie Lee - University of California, Irvine
Connie Lee
Armstrong Justin Vanderveer - University of Denver, Sturm College of Law
Justin Vanderveer
Kennedy Isabel Gonzalez - St. Thomas University School of Law
Isabel Gonzalez
Sara Flenniken  - University of Florida
Sara Flenniken
Langley Autumn Tyler - University of Cincinnati Law
Autumn Tyler
Johnson Kyle Koch - Loyola, NOLA
Marshall Daniel Michon – University of Texas School of Law, Austin
Daniel Michon
NSSC Brandon Melerine - Loyola, NOLA
Stennis Patric Reinbold - University of Wisconsin Law
Patric Reinbold

The University of Nebraska College of Law’s Space, Cyber, and Telecommunications (SCT) Law Program was selected by NASA to establish the Space Law Network (SLN).  As part of this program, SCT leadership, Professor and Co-Director Matt Schaefer and Executive Director Elsbeth Magilton worked with NASA Nebraska Space Grant Associate Director Michaela Lucas to help collect and vet internship applications for funded positions at NASA centers in summer 2019.  After the initial vetting process, the ultimate hiring decisions were  made by the attorneys at each individual center. 

These paid positions were full time and span 10 weeks (generally end-of-May to the beginning-of-August) and came with a $9,000 award to fund the experience.

The interns worked with NASA attorneys on a broad range of legal matters encountered by the world’s premier space agency.  Such matters included litigation and transactional actions involving government contracts, Space Act agreements, personnel law, government ethics, Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), interagency agreements, and other issues.  The intern attended meetings, reviewed documents, performed legal research, analyzed statutes, regulations, and case law, and drafted legal memoranda. 

Centers Who Participated in the Internship Program:

Armstrong Flight Research Center is located at Edwards, California. Armstrong is NASA's lead center for atmospheric flight research, operations, and testing. Armstrong supports the agency by providing flight research and development for NASA aeronautics, and global flight operations and development for NASA science in support of astrophysics and earth science. Armstrong supports the agency’s human space flight and space technology efforts through atmospheric flight validation. David D. McBride is the current director of NASA's Armstrong Flight Research Center.

NASA's Ames Research Center is located in the heart of California's Silicon Valley. For more than 75 years, Ames has led NASA in conducting world-class research and development in aeronautics, exploration technology and science. Ames's core areas of expertise are entry systems, advanced computing and IT systems, aero sciences, air traffic management, astrobiology and life science, intelligent/adaptive systems and space and Earth science.  Eugene Tu is the current director of Ames Research Center. 

NASA’s Johnson Space Center is located in Houston, TX. It has served as a hub of human spaceflight activity for more than half a century. It is home to the nation’s astronaut corps, the International Space Station mission operations, the Orion Program, and a host of future space developments. The center plays a pivotal role in enhancing scientific and technological knowledge to benefit all of humankind. Mark S. Geyer is the current director of the Johnson Space Center.

Kennedy Space Center is located on the east coast of Florida, adjacent to Cape Canaveral Air Force Station. It is the home to NASA's launch services program, as well as the commercial crew, exploration ground, and station payloads programs. Since December 1968, Kennedy Space Center has been NASA's primary launch center of human spaceflight. Robert D. Cabana is the current director of NASA's Kennedy Space Center.

Langley Research Center is located in Hampton, Virginia.  Langley works to make revolutionary improvements to aviation, expand understanding of Earth’s atmosphere and develop technology for space exploration. NASA's Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate (ARMD) is located at Langley and works to solve the challenges that still exist in our nation's air transportation system: air traffic congestion, safety and environmental impacts. David E. Bowels is the current director of Langley Research Center.

Marshall Space Flight Center is located in Huntsville, Alabama. Marshall has been used to design and build the engines, vehicles, space systems, instruments and science payloads that make possible unprecedented missions of science and discovery throughout our solar system. Marshall also manages the Michoud Assembly Facility, where the core stage of Space Launch System is under construction with a unique set of leading-edge tools, including the largest spacecraft welding tool in the world, the 170-foot-tall, 78-foot-wide Vertical Assembly Center. Jody Singer is the current director of NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center. 

NSSC- NASA Shared Services Center
The NASA Shared Services Center (NSSC) was established as a result of an OMB A-76 competition and opened for business on March 1, 2006, on the grounds of Stennis Space Center in Mississippi. The NSSC performs selected business activities for all NASA Centers in financial management, human resources, information technology, procurement and business support services. The NSSC is supported in its mission, under contract, by its Service Provider, CSC. The NSSC performs a variety of transactional and administrative activities. Consolidation allows the NSSC to increase operational efficiency and improve overall customer service. Anita Harrel is the current director of the NSSC.

Stennis Space Center is located in South Mississippi on I-10 at Exit 2 approximately 48 miles west of Biloxi and 45 miles east of New Orleans. Stennis has evolved into a multidisciplinary facility comprised of NASA and more than 40 other resident agencies engaged in space and environmental programs and the national defense, including the U.S. Navy's world-class oceanographic research community. As of 2012, it is NASA's largest rocket engine test facility. Richard Gilbrech is the current director of NASA's Stennis Space Center.