Naseem and Sandberg win 75th Annual Allen Moot Court Competition

04 May 2021    

Natasha Naseem and Marley Sandberg

Natasha Naseem, ’22, and Marley Sandberg, ’22, are the winners of the 75th Annual Thomas Stinson Allen Moot Court Competition, beating six other teams in the intraschool competition.

To participate in the Allen Moot Court Competition, teams are asked to submit a written brief of a case. This year, the case concerned a prisoner suing a penitentiary, with issues arising under the Prison Litigation Reform Act and a First Amendment censorship violation.

During the oral argument portion of the competition, each team is asked to argue twice in the preliminary round, taking both appellant and appellee positions. The four highest scoring teams move on to the semifinal round. This year, Judge Grasz, ’89, Judge Buesher, Judge Zwart, ’88, and attorney David Bargen, ’04, served as semi-finals judges.

The team of Naseem and Sandberg argued against Marc Sisson, ’22, and Trevor Rogers, ’22, in the final round. Best oral advocate, chosen from the performances in the final round, was awarded to Naseem. Nebraska Supreme Court Judges Justice Freudenberg, ’95, Justice Funke, ’94, and Justice Papik, served as the judges during the final round.