Wittlin, Thimmesch Recognized for Outstanding Teaching

Wittlin, Thimmesch Recognized for Outstanding Teaching

12 Feb 2018    

Professors of the Year
On Friday, February 9, College of Law students and faculty gathered at the Talon Room for the Student Bar Association’s annual Meeting of the Minds. Each year the event serves as an opportunity for students to recognize faculty with the Outstanding 1L Professor and Outstanding Upperclass Professor awards. This year’s awards were given to Professor Maggie Wittlin and Professor Adam Thimmesch, respectively. This is the second year in a row that these two professors have been honored with these awards, and the third time Thimmesch has been recognized as the Outstanding Upperclass Professor. In addition to these traditional awards, the students honored Assistant Dean for Student Affairs Marc Pearce for his tremendous contributions to the academic success of students. 

In addition to the faculty awards, students are also recognized for their academic achievements. This year the following students received the following awards:

McGrath North Mullin & Kratz Legal Writing Award:    
Troy Anderson
Mary Marcum
Claire E. Monroe
Christopher Page
John Rockenback
Sami Schmit             
Nick Knihinsky
Michaela Lutz
Lauren Nichols

Silver Quill Award:  Troy Anderson

Harold W. Kauffman Best Brief: John Rockenback, David Shea
Professor Arthur Bruce Winter Constitutional Law Scholar Award: John Rockenback   
Great Plains Federal Tax Institute Philip G. Johnson Scholarship: Gregory Moran
Great Plains Federal Tax Institute David A. Ludtke Scholarship: Brittney Moriarty
Marvin & Virginia Schmid Honor Scholars:
Alexander Clauson
James Michael Hannon
Sydney M. Huss
Adam J. Kost
Megan R. Meyerson
Gregory M. Moran
Chelsea Avent
Kalli Gloudemans
Nicholas Meyesenberg
William Nelson
Jeffrey Story
Jared Koch (Editor-in-Chief, Nebraska Law Review)
Margaret Jackson (Chair, Nebraska Moot Court Board)